All CDs 20% off with promo code "HOLIDAY15"


Royal Mezzo

Buy Album

    • CD
    • $16.00
    • 1 Disc
    • MP3
    • $7.00
    • 256 kbps
    • FLAC
    • $10.00
    • 16-bit
    • 9509695

Royal Mezzo

Carlos KalmarGrant Park OrchestraJennifer LarmoreMary Stolper

  • CDR 90000 104

Cedille Selects tracks are designed to provide a representative overview of the album

    • Andromache’s Farewell, Op. 39 (13:10)

    • SAMUEL BARBER (1910–1981)

      Andromache’s Farewell, Op. 39 (13:10)

    • Recitativo: "C’en est donc fait!" (3:11)

    • HECTOR BERLIOZ (1803 - 1869)

      La mort de Cleopatre (21:32)

      Recitativo: "C’en est donc fait!" (3:11)

    • Canto: "Ah! Qu’ils sont loin ces jours" (6:52)

    • Canto: "Ah! Qu’ils sont loin ces jours" (6:52)

    • Meditation: "Grands Phararons" (4:49)

    • Meditation: "Grands Phararons" (4:49)

    • Allegro assai agitato: "Non!" (6:39)

    • Allegro assai agitato: "Non!" (6:39)

    • I. Asie (10:14)

    • MAURICE RAVEL (1875 - 1937)

      Sheherazade (17:23)

      I. Asie (10:14)

    • II. La flute enchantee (3:00)

    • Mary Stolper, solo flute

      II. La flute enchantee (3:00)

    • III. L’indifferent (4:02)

    • III. L’indifferent (4:02)

    • Phaedra, Op. 93 (14:43)

    • BENJAMIN BRITTEN (1913–1976)

      Phaedra, Op. 93 (14:43)

Album Description Download Full CD Booklet

World-renowned mezzo-soprano Jennifer Larmore sings four royal roles in a tour de force program of dramatic orchestral works.

Surging with epic emotions, Royal Mezzo showcases Ms. Larmore in symphonic portraits of commanding characters from legend, literature, and mythology.

Samuel Barber’s haunting Andromache’s Farewell depicts the anguish of a Trojan queen forced to give up her son after the Greeks conquered her city. The bold harmonies and orchestral colors of Hector Berlioz’s La mort de Cléopâtre (The Death of Cleopatra) shocked the French musical establishment. Maurice Ravel’s dreamy and sensuous song cycle Shéhérazade was inspired by the storytelling queen of The Arabian Nights. And Benjamin Britten’s graphic Phaedra recounts a mythic tale of lust and guilt in ancient Athens.

Jennifer Larmore delivers it all with her trademark dramatic intensity and “faultless technique” (BBC Music), matched by the “exuberance, commitment and edge” (The New York Times) of the Grant Park Orchestra under Carlos Kalmar.

Critic Reviews

Customer Reviews

Submit Customer Review

Thank You For Submitting Your Review. Our Team will evaluate and post your review soon.

Captcha Image

Program Notes

Album Details

Total Time: 67:15

Producer: James Ginsburg
Engineers: Bill Maylone, Chris Willis (Barber and Berlioz); Eric Arunas, Bill Maylone (Ravel and Britten)
Digital Editing: Bill Maylone
Graphic Design: Melanie Germond
Cover Photo: McArthur Photography (
Recorded: in concert in Orchestra Hall, Chicago, August 4 & 5, 2006 (Barber and Berlioz) and at the Harris Theater for Music and Dance in Millenium Park, Chicago, June 29 & 30, 2007 (Ravel and Britten)

© 2008 Cedille Records/Cedille Chicago