Twentieth Century Oboe Concertos

Buy Album

    • CD
    • $16.00
    • 2 Disc
    • FLAC
    • $10.00
    • 16-bit
    • 9508963
    • MP3
    • $7.00
    • 256 kbps

Twentieth Century Oboe Concertos

Alex KleinCzech National Symphony Orchestra

  • CDR 90000 079


The longer Cedille Selects track excerpts are designed to provide a representative overview of the recording (not applicable to all albums)

    • I. Moderato (4:50)

    • BOHUSLAV MARTINU (1890-1959)

      Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra (1955) (15:44)

      I. Moderato (4:50)

    • II. Poco Andante (6:18)

    • II. Poco Andante (6:18)

    • III. Poco Allegro (4:29)

    • III. Poco Allegro (4:29)

    • Virtuti Militari (Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra) (1992) (27:50)

    • PAWEL SYDOR (b. 1970)

      Virtuti Militari (Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra) (1992) (27:50)

    • I. (In Memoriam) (10:01)

    • MARCO AURELIO YANO (1963-1991)

      Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra (1991) (37:44)

      I. (In Memoriam) (10:01)

    • II. Serenata (11:58)

    • II. Serenata (11:58)

    • III. Frevo (15:32)

    • III. Frevo (15:32)

Album Description Download Full CD Booklet

Alex Klein presents world premiere recordings of two works written expressly for him: fellow Brazilian native Marco Aurélio Yano's vibrant and exotic Oboe Concerto (1991) and Polish composer Pawel Sydor's dramatic "Virtuti Militari" (1992), a musical fable of individual heroism under social repression. Completing the program is a cornerstone of twentieth-century oboe repertoire, Bohuslav Martinu's 1955 Concerto: a thoroughly distinctive, neoclassical delight.

Critic Reviews

ClassicsToday.com (www.classicstoday.com)

"This disc is a model of sensitive artistry, enterprising repertoire selection, and superlative engineering. It just doesn't get any better."

Customer Reviews

Submit Customer Review

Thank You For Submitting Your Review. Our Team will evaluate and post your review soon.

Captcha Image

Program Notes

Album Details

Total Time: 81:37

Producers: Alex Klein & James Ginsburg
Engineer: Bill Maylone
Graphic Design: Melanie Germond and Pete Goldlust
Cover: "Instrumentos de Amor e Morte" from the series, Torsos, by Antonio Henrique Amaral; oil on canvas; 180 cm x 180 cm; 1995. Collection of the artist 
Recorded: June 16-20, 2003 at the studios of ICN-Polyart, Prague, Czech Republic
Martinu © 1983 Les Editions Max Eschig (SACEM) administered by BMG Songs, Inc. (ASCAP)
Sydor © 1992 Pawel B. Sydor
Yano © 1991 Marco A. Yano

© 2004 Cedille Records/Cedille Chicago

Support Cedille