All CDs 20% off with promo code "HOLIDAY15"


Dmitry Paperno: Uncommon Encores

Buy Album

    • CD
    • $10.00
    • 1 Disc
    • MP3
    • $5.00
    • 256 kbps
    • FLAC
    • $7.50
    • 16-bit

Dmitry Paperno: Uncommon Encores

Dmitry Paperno

  • CDR 90000 007

Cedille Selects tracks are designed to provide a representative overview of the album

    • Prelude in B minor (2:52)

    • J.S. BACH (1685-1750) / tr. Siloti

      Prelude in B minor (2:52)

    • Sonata in B minor, L. 449 (3:35)

    • DOMENICO SCARLATTI (1685-1757)

      Sonata in B minor, L. 449 (3:35)

    • Melodie d Orfee (3:08)

    • C. W. GLUCK (1714-1787) / tr. Sgambati

      Melodie d Orfee (3:08)

    • Rondo in E-flat, Op. 11 (4:37)

    • J. N. HUMMEL (1778-1837)

      Rondo in E-flat, Op. 11 (4:37)

    • Rondo capriccioso, Op. 14 (6:09)

    • FELIX MENDELSSOHN (1809-1847)

      Rondo capriccioso, Op. 14 (6:09)

    • Der Nussbaum, Op. 25, No. 3 (2:27)

    • ROBERT SCHUMANN (1810-1856) / tr. Levinson

      Der Nussbaum, Op. 25, No. 3 (2:27)

    • Mazurka in C-sharp minor, Op. 50, No. 3 (4:25)

    • FREDERIC CHOPIN (1810-1849)

      Mazurka in C-sharp minor, Op. 50, No. 3 (4:25)

    • Die Loreley (6:15)

    • FRANZ LISZT (1811-1886)

      Die Loreley (6:15)

    • Cordoba, Op. 232, No. 4 (4:47)

    • ISAAC ALBENIZ (1860-1909)

      Cordoba, Op. 232, No. 4 (4:47)

    • Cancione y Danza No. 1 (3:14)

    • FEDERICO MOMPOU (1893-1987)

      Cancione y Danza No. 1 (3:14)

    • The Lark (5:09)

    • MIKHAIL GLINKA (1804-1857) / tr. Balakirev

      The Lark (5:09)

    • Polichinelle, Op. 3, No. 4 (3:36)

    • SERGEI RACHMANINOV (1873-1943)

      Polichinelle, Op. 3, No. 4 (3:36)

    • Waltz, Op. 38 (5:47)

    • ALEXANDER SCRIABIN (1872-1915)

      Waltz, Op. 38 (5:47)

    • Toccata (4:20)

    • ARAM KHACHATURIAN (1903-1978)

      Toccata (4:20)

    • Basso Ostinato (4:02)

    • RODION SHCHEDRIN (b. 1932)

      Basso Ostinato (4:02)

    • Andante cantabile from Sonata in C, K330 (5:25)

    • W. A. MOZART (1756-1791)

      Andante cantabile from Sonata in C, K330 (5:25)

Album Description Download Full CD Booklet

When the French say "Encore!" they actually mean "Not again!" And that's how jaded record collectors might feel toward another CD of piano encores. (The French yell "bis" to demand an extra piece at the end of a recital.) Yet Dmitry Paperno's Uncommon Encores explodes the notion that an encores album means showy musical chestnuts, roasted too many times over.

Russian-born Paperno delivers deep, powerful performances of 16 lesser-recorded piano miniatures. He magnifies and reveals these rich musical microcosms with a three-dimensional pianism that takes advantage of the instrument's full sonorities.

A rarity is the Cancione y Danza No. 1 by Federico Mompou, the Spanish (Catalan) composer who specialized in small-scale piano pieces. "Many of his pastels are of an extraordinary haunting . . . elegance," wrote Lionel Salter in the New Grove Dictionary (1980). Mompou's "fondness of ostinato figures and bell sound often lends an incantatory quality to his poetic evocations."

Even the one Rachmaninoff piece, the Polichinelle, Op. 3, No. 4, is seldom heard.

A beguiling, spiritual performance of Siloti's transcription of Bach's Prelude in B minor opens the program. Scarlatti's Sonata in B minor is beautiful and dramatic, with a sunny radiance and eternally fresh-sounding melodies. Sgambati's transcription of Gluck's Mélodie d'Orfée is achingly lovely and seems perfect for a tenderly romantic movie scene. Particularly interesting in Shchedrin's suspenseful yet jazzy Basso Ostinato.

Russian pianist and teacher Leah Levinson's transcription of Schumann's song "Der Nussbaum" (The Nut Tree) receives its first-ever recording. "An amazing achievement for a one-piece composer," Paperno writes in the liner notes. "She gave me the piece as soon as she finally wrote it down in the early 1960s."

Paperno's liner notes, like the recording, are uncommon, informative and quite touching. A mature artist, Paperno offers stimulating first-person accounts of his relationships with the pieces and their performance challenges. Paperno tells of his first visit with Shchedrin, "my closest friend from my years in what used to be the USSR." Unable to find a copy of the popular Basso Ostinato score, Paperno went to the composer's Moscow apartment and came away with a personally inscribed copy.

Critic Reviews

Customer Reviews

Submit Customer Review

Thank You For Submitting Your Review. Our Team will evaluate and post your review soon.

Captcha Image

Program Notes

Album Details

Total Time: 71:24

Recorded: July 10 & 11, 1991 at WFMT Chicago
Producer: James Ginsburg
Engineer: Bill Maylone
Cover photo: Paperno at the Moscow Conservatory, 1964
Design: Robert J. Salm
Notes: Dmitry Paperno

© 1992 Cedille Records/Cedille Chicago

Support Cedille