Brahms Piano Quintet <br />Schumann String Quartet No.1

Buy Album

    • CD
    • $16.00
    • 1 Disc
    • FLAC
    • $12.00
    • 24-Bit
    • 11502950;11502951;11502952;11502953;11502954
    • MP3
    • $7.00
    • 320 kbps

Brahms Piano Quintet
Schumann String Quartet No.1

Pacifica QuartetMenahem Pressler

  • CDR 90000 170


The longer Cedille Selects track excerpts are designed to provide a representative overview of the recording (not applicable to all albums)

    • I. Allegro non troppo (16:19)

    • JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833-1897)

      Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34

      I. Allegro non troppo (16:19)

    • II. Andante, un poco Adagio (8:57)

    • II. Andante, un poco Adagio (8:57)

    • III. Scherzo: Allegro (8:13)

    • III. Scherzo: Allegro (8:13)

    • IV. Finale: Poco sostenuto—Allegro non troppo (11:20)

    • IV. Finale: Poco sostenuto—Allegro non troppo (11:20)

    • I. Introduzione: Andante espressivo—Allegro (9:46)

    • ROBERT SCHUMANN (1810-1856)

      String Quartet No. 1 in A minor, Op. 41, No. 1

      I. Introduzione: Andante espressivo—Allegro (9:46)

    • II. Scherzo: Presto (3:59)

    • II. Scherzo: Presto (3:59)

    • III. Adagio (6:05)

    • III. Adagio (6:05)

    • IV. Presto (6:26)

    • IV. Presto (6:26)

Album Description Download Full CD Booklet

The internationally celebrated, Grammy Award-winning Pacifica Quartet joins forces with legendary pianist Menahem Pressler of the Beaux Arts Trio for Johannes Brahms’s Piano Quintet in F Minor, Op. 34, a pillar of German Romanticism that opens with one of the most recognizable melodies in classical music. Pressler, a consummate chamber artist, performs the virtuosic piano part with a clarity and transparency that makes the piano seem like a fellow member of the string ensemble.

This noteworthy generation-crossing collaboration — a half-century separates the pianist, who is in his 90s, from the quartet members — yields a spacious, sweeping traversal of the Brahms Quintet that sets its own pace to build suspense and drama. While Pressler has performed the Brahms Quintet with marquee string quartets of the past 50 years, this is his first recording of it.

The album offers the unusual, perhaps unprecedented, pairing of Brahms’s early Piano Quintet with a string quartet by his champion Robert Schumann, in this case, the String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41, No.1, which the Quartet has been performing since early in its career. Dedicated to Mendelssohn, this buoyant, sprightly Romantic quartet showcases the Pacifica’s virtuosity and exuberant performance style while offering a contrast to Brahms’s moodier masterwork. This is the Quartet’s first recording of a Schumann work.

Currently quartet-in-residence at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music, the Pacifica Quartet was previously quartet-in-residence at New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art and the University of Chicago. The Quartet received the 2009 Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance and that same year was named “Ensemble of the Year” by Musical America. German-born pianist Menahem Pressler was a founding member of the illustrious, long-lived Beaux Arts Trio. The recipient of a Gramophone magazine Lifetime Achievement Award, he currently holds the rank of Distinguished Professor of Music at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music.

Critic Reviews

". . . a knock-your-socks off reading whose intensity, involvement, strength, and emotional punch are nothing short of extraordinary. This is well-known music that these players seem to know, and feel, better than just anybody else who has recorded it."

"The Pacifica Quartet . . . gives incisive, penetrating performances."

Customer Reviews

Submit Customer Review

Thank You For Submitting Your Review. Our Team will evaluate and post your review soon.

Captcha Image

Program Notes

Album Details

TT: (71:39)

Producer/Engineer: Judith Sherman
Editing: Bill Maylone
Editing Assistance: Jeanne Velonis
Additional Post Production: James Ginsburg and Steve Rodby
Recorded: November 19-21, 2014 (Brahms) and May 2-3, 2016 (Schumann) in Auer Hall at Indiana University
Graphic Design: Twin Collective
Cover Photos: "Menahem Pressler" by Julien Mignot
"Pacifica Quartet" by Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

© 2017 Cedille Records/Cedille Chicago 

Support Cedille